Business Professionals of America Announces its 2020 – 2021 Board of Trustees and Officers

Business Professionals of America, Inc. (BPA) is pleased to announce the election of five new members to its Board of Trustees, three of which will serve three-year terms, and two will serve a one-year term each. Joining the Board of Trustees for a three-year term of service are Jason Hendrickson, State Advisor Representative, Dianne Carroll, At Large, and Trent Hughes, Middle Level Representative. Ryan Nkongnyu, Secondary National President, and Sophia Pearson, Post-secondary National President, will both serve one-year terms during their service on the BPA National Officer Team.

In addition to the election of new trustees, the new Board of Trustees Officers were also appointed. Leading the organization’s Board as Chair will be Debbie Darnell, former Indiana BPA State Advisor who has been involved with the organization for 35 years.

“The 2020-21 year will bring new challenges and new opportunities for our membership, local chapters, state associations, and business partners. What the ‘new normal’ will be or become is yet to be determined,” said Mrs. Debbie Darnell. “As a team, we will figure this out and will become a better and stronger organization for it. Rest assured, your Board of Trustees and officers, working alongside the national staff, are resolved to continue and refresh the absolute best BPA experiences for students and teachers in this new normal as it unfolds.”

Amy Riddle, Business/IT Pathway Teacher at Matanuska-Susitna Career and Technical High School and Alaska BPA State Advisor, will serve as Vice Chair of the Board; Shauna Williams, State Advisor and Program Quality Manager of Business & Marketing Education for Idaho Career & Technical Education, will serve as Secretary; and Evan Wolff, Business Representative and BPA National Business Advisory Council member from the Association of International Certified Professional Accountants, will serve as Treasurer.

"We are pleased to welcome Jason, Dianne, Trent, Ryan and Sophia to the National Board of Trustees as all of them bring remarkable skills and unique perspectives that are going to lead BPA and the students we serve to new heights, " said Dr. LouAnn Ross, BPA Executive Director/CEO. “Additionally, I am thrilled to recognize the newly elected officers for the coming year led by Mrs. Debbie Darnell. We would also like to express our sincere gratitude to Mr. Cedric Bandoh for his leadership over the past two years serving as Chair. We look forward to his mentorship and support as he continues service on the Board for the next two years.”

In addition to recognizing the newest members of the Board of Trustees, BPA would also like to express its appreciation for the dedicated service of the four outgoing members who have completed their terms: Emily White, Cassandra Lindo, Dr. Nate Cradit and Amy Hollingsworth.

 “We all have a shared responsibility to contribute to our organization's overall vitality and direction,” said Mrs. Darnell. “Together, Giving Purpose to Potential, we will make the coming year one full of fantastic experiences and memorable learning for our stakeholders. I look forward to you joining us and coming alongside for this journey.”